Wednesday, November 10, 2004

Whitbread Book Awards

The shortlists have been announced for the Whitbread Book Awards 2004.

Novel Award shortlist
Kate Atkinson - Case Histories
Louis de Bernières - Birds Without Wings
Alan Hollinghurst - The Line of Beauty
Andrea Levy - Small Island

First Novel Award shortlist
Susanna Clarke - Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
Richard Collins - The Land as Viewed from the Sea
Susan Fletcher - Eve Green
Panos Karnezis - The Maze

Biography Award shortlist
John Guy - My Heart is my Own:The Life of Mary Queen of Scots
David McKie - Jabez: The Rise and Fall of a Victorian Rogue
John Sutherland - Stephen Spender
Jeremy Treglown - V.S. Pritchett: A Life

Poetry Award shortlist
Leontia Flynn - These Days
John Fuller - Ghosts
Matthew Hollis - Ground Water
Michael Symmons Roberts - Corpus

Children’s Book Award shortlist
Anne Cassidy - Looking for JJ
Geraldine McCaughrean - Not the End of the World
Meg Rosoff - How I Live Now
Ann Turnbull - No Shame, No Fear

Winners in the five categories, who each receive £5,000, will be announced on Wednesday 6th January 2005. The overall winner of the Whitbread Book of the Year will receive £25,000 and will be selected and announced at the Whitbread Book Awards ceremony in central London on Tuesday 25th January 2005.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.