Thursday, October 05, 2006

Forward Poetry Prize winners

The £10,000 Forward Prize for Poetry has been won by Robin Robertson for his collection Swithering.

Robertson, 50, from Scone, Perthshire, is the first poet to have won both the best collection prize and the best first collection prize.

The first, A Painted Field, was a winner in 1997. Swithering is the third collection he has released.

Indian-born Tishani Doshi, 31, won the £5,000 best first collection prize for Countries of the Body.

Sean O'Brien won the £1,000 best single poem prize with Fantasia On A Theme Of James Wright.
More from BBC News.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.