Friday, April 13, 2007

ManBooker International 2007 - nominations

The nominations have been announced for the ManBooker International Prize for Fiction. They are: Chinua Achebe, Margaret Atwood, John Banville, Peter Carey, Don DeLillo, Carlos Fuentes, Doris Lessing, Ian McEwan, Harry Mulisch, Alice Munro, Michael Ondaatje, Amos Oz, Philip Roth, Salman Rushdie and Michel Tournier.

The inaugural Prize, in 2005, was won by Albanian novelist Ismail Kadaré.

The competition, worth £60,000 to the winner, is open to all living writers whose work is available in English, and is won on the basis of a body of work rather than a single book. Many of the nominees for the 2007 Prize, were also on the list for 2005 although neither Milan Kundera nor John Updike, notable names in the first selection, have been chosen this year.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in June.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.