Tuesday, November 06, 2007

EWC elects new board

A new Board has been elected for the European Writers' Congress (EWC) for the period 2007-2009.

The new President is John Erik Forslund from Sweden, while WGGB member Graham Lester George becomes Vice-President alongside Anna Menyhért from Hungary.

The Ordinary Board Members are Adi Blum (Switzerland), Tiziana Colusso, Mette Møller (Norway) and Anna Dünnebier (Germany). Graham Lester George said: "These are challenging times for writers; the concentration of media power in fewer and fewer hands, and the onward march of digitisation means that we have to fight to retain our rights and our incomes on a European and a global stage.

"The EWC is carrying that fight to Brussels and beyond, but with limited financial and personnel resources versus the might of several media empires it is truly a David and Goliath struggle.

"However we are highly motivated and determined to combat their power with forceful argument in support of our rights as the creators of everything that that power is founded upon."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.