Monday, April 14, 2008

Armstrong & Bain

BAFTA Academy Television Screening and Q&A: PEEP SHOW followed by Q&A with writers (and Guild members) Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain

Tuesday 22 April @ 20:00
Princess Anne Theatre (BAFTA)

20:00 Drinks reception
20:30 Screening of Peep Show episode 1, Series 5 followed by Q&A
The BAFTA-nominated and critically acclaimed comedy starring David Mitchell and Robert Webb returns for a fifth series.

Mark (David Mitchell) is the conventional one seething with inner rages and desires. Jeremy (Robert Webb), the loose cannon full of expressed rages and desires, but seething with even more rage on the inside.

Series four left Mark having just gone through with a disastrous marriage ceremony to Sophie (Olivia Coleman), after all but jilting her at the altar. Now, Mark faces the horror of having to face his estranged wife at work. Meanwhile Jeremy has a rude awakening when the money he's been subsisting on finally runs out and he's forced to try and find a new source of income.

This series sees Mark and Jeremy still sharing the same flat, but both entering their 30s with failed marriages behind them, few prospects, and a sense of impending crisis. Time is running out for them to sort out their lives. Jeremy's mother appears on the scene and it soon becomes clear why he's ended up as he is. Mark goes speed dating, and discovers money can buy you love. Jeremy and Superhans (Matt King) play at a Christian Rock Festival; the flat suffers multiple burglaries and the boys endure their worst ever night out - at the theatre.

The screening will be followed by a Q&A with writers Jesse Armstrong & Sam Bain, chaired by Andrew Newman, Head of Entertainment & Comedy, Channel 4.
Booking: Tickets can be booked online via

Academy Members: Free
Non Members: £10

1 comment:

  1. Isn't it wonderful to see writers centre-stage (literally) in a Q & A? Usually writers are lucky to get a seat in the audience whilst the producer, director and cast pontificate on how they created the work.

    Sam and Jesse are also valued members of the TV Committee, for which we're all very grateful!


Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.