Saturday, September 20, 2008

Writers’ Guild Awards 2008 Shortlists Announced

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain is delighted to announce the shortlist for the Writers’ Guild Awards 2008, to be held at BAFTA on Sunday 23rd November:

Best Short Form TV Drama
  • Tony Basgallop - Hughie Green, Most Sincerely
  • Gwyneth Hughes - Miss Austen Regrets
  • Sarah Williams - Poppy Shakespeare (based on a novel by Clare Allan)
Best Soap
  • Mark Cairns, Andrew Holden, Martha Hillier, Sam Wheats, Graham Mitchell, Jake Riddlell, Chris Murray, Tony McHale, Matthew Evans, Martin Jameson, Dana Fainaru, Len Collin, Joe Ainsworth, Peter Lloyd, Ian Kershaw, Veronica Henry, Gert Thomas, Jeff Dodds, Dan Sefton, Sebastian Baczkiewicz, Daisy Coulam, Abi Bown - Holby City, Season 10
  • Angela Corner Anna Clements Barry Woodward Carol Ann Docherty Chris Gill Daran Little David Mcdermott Helen Blakeman Jane Marlow Jane Pearson Jesse O'Mahoney Jessica Lea Johanne Mcandrew Elliot Hope Kim Millar Lyn Papadopoulos Mariam Vossough Mark Bickerton Matthew Westwood Maurice Bessman Nick Saltrese Nick West Paul Coates Perrie Balthazar Richard Burke Roger Williams Steven Fay Tara Byrne Tony Green Tracy Brabin - Hollyoaks
  • Geoff McQueen (series deviser), Richard Ommanney, Neil Clarke, Steve Griffiths, Emma Goodwin, Julian Perkins, Steve Attridge, Clive Dawson, Peter G. Morgan, Andrew Taft, Chris Murray, Tom Higgins, Julia Wall, Maxwell Young, Jane Marlow, Sally Tatchell, Si Spencer, Matthew Bardsley, Jonathan Rich, Matthew Leys, James Hall, Chris Murray, Stuart Morris, Nicholas McInerny, Chris Ould, Alan Pollock, Simon Moss, Nicholas Martin, Scott Cherry, Doug Milburn, Steve Trafford, Stephanie Lloyd Jones, Steve Baillie, Frank Rickarby, Andrew Alty, Will Shindler, Chris Dunn, Sarah-Louise Hawkins, Len Collin, Gregory Evans, Tom Needham, Patrick Homes - The Bill, Season 23
Best TV Drama Series
  • Heidi Thomas - Cranford
  • Matthew Graham, Ashley Pharoah, Julie Rutterford, Mick Ford and Mark Greig - Ashes to Ashes
  • Clive Bradley and Peter Harness - City of Vice
Best TV Comedy / Light Entertainment
  • Andy Hamilton and Guy Jenkin - Outnumbered
  • James Corden and Ruth Jones - Gavin and Stacey, Series 2
  • Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain – Peep Show, Series 5
Best Play (Theatre)
  • Lucinda Coxon - Happy Now?
  • Levi David Addai - Oxford Street
  • Martin Crimp - The City
Best Play for Children and Young People (Theatre)
  • Mike Kenny – Electric Darkness
  • John Moorhouse - Fly Away Peter
  • Neil Duffield – Small Fry
Best Screenplay (Feature Film)
  • Martin McDonagh - In Bruges
  • Ronald Harwood - The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (based on the book by Jean-Dominique Bauby)
  • Matt Greenhalgh - Control (based on Deborah Curtis’ autobiography ‘Touching from a Distance’)
Best Radio Comedy / Light Entertainment
  • Mark Evans – Bleak Expectations
  • Sanjeev Kohli and Donald McLeary – Fags, Mags and Bags
  • Nigel Smith - Vent
Best Radio Play
  • Dan Rebellato - Cavalry
  • Jennie Buckman and Ulises Rodriguez Febles - Cuba
  • Chris Harrald - Mr Larkin's Awkward Day
Best Videogame Script
  • Rhianna Pratchett - Overlord
  • Tom Jubert - Penumbra Black Plague
  • Rhianna Pratchett, Tameem Antoniades and Andy Serkis - Heavenly Sword
  • Steve Ince - So Blonde
Best Book
  • Tim Butcher - Blood River
  • Kate Clanchy – What Is She Doing Here?
  • Owen Sheers - Resistance
Also presented at the ceremony on Sunday 23 November will be:
  • An Award for Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Writing
  • A Lifetime Achievement Award
100 tickets to the ceremony, which will be hosted by Jeremy Hardy, are now on sale at a cost of £30 to Writers’ Guild members and £50 to non-members.

For further information, please contact the Writers’ Guild office on 020 7833 0777 or email

1 comment:

  1. I attended in spirit. The awards show sounds wonderful.


Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.