Monday, November 24, 2008

Writers' Guild Awards 2008 - the winners

The winners of the Writers' Guild Awards 2008 were announced last night.

Gwyneth Hughes - Miss Austen Regrets (Best Short Form TV Drama)

The writers of The Bill, Season 23 - Geoff McQueen (series deviser), Richard Ommanney, Neil Clarke, Steve Griffiths, Emma Goodwin, Julian Perkins, Steve Attridge, Clive Dawson, Peter G. Morgan, Andrew Taft, Chris Murray, Tom Higgins, Julia Wall, Maxwell Young, Jane Marlow, Sally Tatchell, Si Spencer, Matthew Bardsley, Jonathan Rich, Matthew Leys, James Hall, Chris Murray, Stuart Morris, Nicholas McInerny, Chris Ould, Alan Pollock, Simon Moss, Nicholas Martin, Scott Cherry, Doug Milburn, Steve Trafford, Stephanie Lloyd Jones, Steve Baillie, Frank Rickarby, Andrew Alty, Will Shindler, Chris Dunn, Sarah-Louise Hawkins, Len Collin, Gregory Evans, Tom Needham, Patrick Homes (Best Soap / Continuing Drama Series)

Heidi Thomas - Cranford (Best TV Drama Series)

James Corden and Ruth Jones - Gavin and Stacey, Series 2 (Best TV Comedy / Light Entertainment)

Lucinda Coxon - Happy Now? (Best Play - Theatre)

Mike Kenny – Electric Darkness (Best Play for Children and Young People - Theatre)

Ronald Harwood - The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, based on the book by Jean-Dominique Bauby (Best Screenplay - Feature Film)

Sanjeev Kohli and Donald McLeary – Fags, Mags and Bags (Best Radio Comedy / Light Entertainment)

Chris Harrald - Mr Larkin's Awkward Day (Best Radio Play)

Kate Clanchy – What Is She Doing Here? (Best Book)

Rhianna Pratchett - Overlord (Best Videogame Script)

Also recognised at the ceremony were:

Tony Collingwood - An Award for Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Writing

David Croft and Jimmy Perry - A Lifetime Achievement Award

All photos by Simon Denton.

Update 20.30: Some reflections on the night from Gareth McLean in The Guardian.

Update 25.11.2008: A news report in The Stage focuses on the number of female winners this year - women took eight of the eleven main categories.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.