Thursday, July 23, 2009

European Union Prize for Literature

The names of twelve authors to receive the first ever European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) have been announced by the European Commission, the European Booksellers Federation, the European Writers' Council (of which the Writers' Guild is a member) and the Federation of European Publishers.

An initiative of the European Commission, the EUPL will award emerging talents in all of the 34 countries taking part in the EU Culture Programme between 2009 and 2011. Prizes for the first twelve winners will be presented during an Award ceremony in Brussels on 28 September.

The 2009 winners are:
  • Austria - Paulus Hochgatterer
  • Croatia - Mila Pavicevic
  • France - Emmanuelle Pagano
  • Hungary - Szécsi Noémi
  • Ireland - Karen Gillece
  • Italy - Daniele Del Giudice
  • Lithuania - Sintija Černiauskaitė
  • Norway - Carl Frode Tiller
  • Poland - Jacek Dukaj
  • Portugal - Dulce Maria Cardoso
  • Slovakia - Pavol Rankov
  • Sweden - Helena Henschen
Writers from other EU countries will be recognised over the next two years.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.