Monday, August 03, 2009

Writers’ Guild Awards 2009 – call for nominations from Guild Members

It is time to send in your nominations for the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2009. All members of the Writers’ Guild are entitled to nominate in all categories – so don’t miss this opportunity to nominate any great writing you have come across in the past year, whether in theatre plays, films, books, radio, television or video game scripts.

The award categories are as follows:
  • Book (Fiction) *
  • Book (Non-Fiction) *
  • Feature Film Screenplay
  • Feature Film Screenplay – Newcomer
  • Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Writing
  • Radio Comedy / Light Entertainment
  • Radio Drama
  • Television Comedy / Light Entertainment
  • Television Drama Series
  • Television Short-form Drama **
  • Television Soap / Continuing Drama ***
  • Theatre Play
  • Theatre Play for Children and Young People
  • Video Game Script

* Submissions for the Book Awards will also be sought from publishers.
** Short-form drama is defined as being broadcast in a maximum of five parts.
*** Soap / Continuing Drama is defined as high-volume long-running TV drama series with one or more new episode broadcast per week. Television Short-form Drama and Drama Series may include adaptations.

Awards are made to the writer(s), not the production as a whole, so please make your nominations based on the quality of the writing not the standard of production. Nominated writer(s) must be British or work in Britain. To be eligible programmes / plays / games, etc. must have been first released, published, performed or broadcast during the period 1 June 2008 to 31 May 2009 inclusive.

If you have any questions about this, please contact the Guild office.

Please send nominations in any or all of the above categories by email to with your full name and Guild membership number. Please make it clear which writers you are nominating in which categories. Please nominate only one title in each category.

Nominations may also be submitted by post to the Guild office. Please mark envelopes “Award nominations”, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 40 Rosebery Avenue, London EC1R 4RX.

The deadline for nominations is Friday 28 August 2009 and the shortlist will be announced on Wednesday 30 September 2009. The winners will be announced on Sunday 29 November 2009.

The shortlists and winners in each category will be chosen by the relevant Guild Craft Committee or an appropriate jury appointed by the Guild’s Executive Council. There will also be a Lifetime Achievement Award which will be awarded to a Guild member by the Executive Council.


  1. Anonymous11:34 am

    Just out of curiousity, why is there no poetry category?

  2. This is very much a recession year for the awards, and we can't have as many as we'd like. The categories represent the majority of the Guild's membership.

  3. Just submitted my nominations:

    Theatre play: Anthony Neilson for Relocated at the Royal Court (very, very chilling) ; Polly Stenham for Tusk Tusk at the Royal Court (very funny and moving )

    TV short-form drama: Guy Hibbert for Five Minutes of Heaven (simply brilliant); Tony Grisoni for Red Riding, adapted from the books by David Peace (epic darkness)

    TV soap: Coronation Street (the funniest soap by far)

  4. Nice one, Tom. I'm still agonising over my choices. Remember everyone, the more members who vote, the better. The WGGB Awards is one of the few times when writers and their works are honoured, as we should always be!

  5. Indeed - though, of course, we can only nominate rather than vote :-)

  6. Graham Lester George5:52 pm

    Maybe in a more prosperous future there will be an award for poetry as well as for games and short screenplay

  7. We have an award for games! At least, we did last year.

    Would love to see an award for best short film/ screenplay as well. Any potential sponsors out there, please get in touch...

  8. There's definitely an award for Games. Get nominating!


Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.