Friday, October 30, 2009

Writers' Guild Awards shortlists

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain has announced the shortlists for its 2009 Awards. The winners will be revealed at a reception on Sunday 29 November 2009 along with individual awards for Lifetime Achievement and Special Contribution to Writing for Children.

Television comedy / light entertainment
  • Outnumbered, by Andy Hamilton & Guy Jenkin
  • Peep Show, by Sam Bain & Jesse Armstrong
  • The IT Crowd, by Graham Linehan
Television drama series
  • Being Human, by Toby Whitehouse.
  • Doctor Who, various writers
  • Little Dorrit, adapted by Andrew Davies from the novel by Charles Dickens
Television soap / continuing series
  • Doctors, various writers
  • Casualty, various writers
  • Coronation Street, various writers
Television short form drama
  • The Devil's Whore by Peter Flannery and Martine Brant
  • Criminal Justice by Peter Moffat
  • The Long Walk to Finchley by Tony Saint
Best feature film screenplay
  • The Damned United, adapted by Peter Morgan from the book by David Peace
  • Hunger, by Enda Walsh, Steve McQueen
  • In the Loop, by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Ianucci, Tony Roche, (additional dialogue by Ian Martin)
Feature film screenplay – newcomer
  • Is Anybody There? by Peter Harness
  • Shifty, by Eran Creevy
  • Summer, by Hugh Ellis.
Best theatre play
  • Apologia, by Alexi Kaye Campbell
  • At the Gates of Gaza, by Juliet Gilkes Romero
  • Relocated, by Anthony Neilson.
Best theatre play for children and young people
  • Knock Against my Heart, by Oladipo Agboluaje
  • Red Fortress, by Carl Miller
  • Scarlet Ribbons, by Brendan Murray
Radio comedy / light entertainment
  • The Now Show, by Steve Punt, Hugh Dennis, Laura Shavin, Jon Holmes et al
  • 15 Minute Musicals, by Richie Webb, David Quantick and Dave Cohen
  • Bleak Expectations, by Mark Evans
  • Cabin Pressure, by John Finnemore
Radio drama
  • A Prayer for Owen Meany, adapted by Linda Marshall Griffin from the novel by John Irving
  • The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists, adapted by Andrew Lynch from the novel by Robert Tressell
  • The Gunshot Wedding, by Katie Hims.
Video games award
  • Prince of Persia, by Andy Walsh
  • Fable II, by Mark Hill
  • Routes, by Tom Edge
The Writers’ Guild Awards are sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society, BBC Writersroom, BBC Talent Rights, and H.W. Fisher & Company, the accountants with many media and trade union clients.

The 2009 Awards reception will be held at the Free Word Centre in Clerkenwell, central London, the newly-opened home of English PEN, Free Word, Index on Censorship, Arvon Foundation, Literary Consultancy, Reading Agency Apples & Snakes, Article 19, Booktrust and Dalkey Archive.

Update (6.11.09): Apologies, the TV short form drama category was missing when this post was first published.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.