Friday, June 11, 2010

Writers’ Guild Awards 2010 – Call for nominations from Guild Members

It is time to send in your nominations for the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2010. All members of the Writers’ Guild are entitled to nominate in all categories – so don’t miss this opportunity to nominate any great writing you have come across in the past year, whether in theatre plays, films, books, radio, television or game scripts.

The award categories are as follows:
  • Book (Fiction) *
  • Book (Non-Fiction) *
  • Feature Film Screenplay
  • Feature Film Screenplay – Best First Feature Length Screenplay
  • Radio Comedy / Light Entertainment
  • Radio Drama
  • Television Comedy / Light Entertainment
  • Television Drama Series
  • Television Short-form Drama **
  • Television Soap / Continuing Drama ***
  • TV Children's Drama
  • Theatre Play
  • Theatre Play for Children and Young People
  • Videogame Script
* Submissions for the Book Awards will also be sought from publishers (see below).

** Short-form drama is defined as being broadcast in a maximum of five parts.

*** Soap / Continuing Drama is defined as high-volume long-running TV drama series with one or more new episodes broadcast per week.

Television Short-form Drama and Drama Series may include adaptations.

Awards are made to the writer(s), not the production as a whole, so please make your nominations based on the quality of the writing, not the standard of production.

Nominated writer(s) must be British or work in Britain.

To be eligible programmes / plays / games, etc. must have been first released, published, performed or broadcast during the period 1 June 2009 to 31 May 2010 inclusive. If you have any questions about this, please contact the Guild office.

Please send nominations in any or all of the above categories by email to with your full name and Guild membership number. Please make it clear which writers you are nominating in which categories. Please nominate only one title in each category.

Nominations may also be submitted by post to the Guild office. Please mark envelopes “Award nominations”, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 40 Rosebery Avenue, London EC1R 4RX.

The deadline for nominations is Friday 3rd September 2010, and the shortlist will be announced on Friday 1st October 2010. The winners will be announced on Sunday 21 November 2010.

The shortlists and winners in each category will be chosen by the relevant Guild Craft Committee or an appropriate jury appointed by the Guild’s Executive Council. There will also be a special award - which can change from year to year - that will be awarded by the Executive Council.

Writers' Guild Awards for Books

The Writers’ Guild is inviting submissions from UK publishers for the Best Book Awards (Fiction and Non-Fiction). These will be judged not only on the quality of the writing - though that may well be of primary importance - but also on their imaginative content (in the case of fiction), the extent to which they fulfil their brief (in the case of non-fiction), and the extent to which they offer a good read.

Each publisher can make a maximum of two submissions (one fiction; one non-fiction).

The entry fee is £50 per submission.

The criteria for eligibility for the award is as follows:

Nominated writer(s) must be British or work in Britain. Eligible books must have been first published and released between 1 June 2009 - 31 May 2010 inclusive.

Submissions should be made to:

The Writers’ Guild Best Book Award 2010, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 40 Rosebery Avenue, London EC1R 4RX

The deadline for submissions is Wednesday 1 September 2010. Please send FOUR COPIES of each book you wish to nominate for the award.

Cheques should be made out to the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain or paid directly into WGGB Awards account no. 34042212. Sort Code: 08-60-01.

The Best Book Awards will be presented, along with awards for television, theatre, film, radio and videogames, at a reception in November 2010 to which the nominated authors and their guests will be invited.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.