Tuesday, January 04, 2005

Honours for Guild members

Three of the UK's leading writers, and long-standing Writers' Guild members, were honoured in the New Years Honours list.

Alan Plater received a CBE. Guild President from 1991-95, Alan has worked in theatre, TV and film. An early contributor to Z-Cars, his credits include the The Beiderbecke Affair for ITV and the recent award-winning TV play, Last Of The Blonde Bombshells.

Ray Cooney, who has received an OBE, is one of Britain's most successful and popular playwrights. Best known for farces such as Run For Your Wife, he has, to date, had 17 plays produced in the West End.

John Sullivan, who has also been awarded an OBE, is best known for creating and writing the hugely successful sitcom, Only Fools And Horses. His impressive list of credits also includes creating the sitcoms Citizen Smith and Just Good Friends.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.