Tuesday, November 04, 2008

British Comedy Awards 2008: The story so far

A guest post from Gail Renard, Chair of the Guild's TV Committee:

The British Comedy Awards will be back on telly this December, given a prevailing wind and a bit of luck. And the Guild will once again be associated, presenting our Writer of the Year award, which is solely in our gift.

But there have already been some changes. Jonathan Ross seems to have remembered a previous engagement and won’t be presenting the awards this year. And there was a compliance officer in the room with the jury; rather like Mr. Mackay watching Fletcher.

The jury consisted of the heads of comedy from BBC, ITV and C4, as well as journalists and three Guild members, Steven Moffat, Jonathan Harvey and myself. We did our best to speak up for all that’s grand in comedy and to make sure that the awards go to the people who deserve them.

However after a day of doing jury service, I’m afraid I still don’t know the new British Comedy Awards presenter - or the new Dr. Who.

Steven Moffat, Gail Renard and Jonathan Harvey

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.